Inaugural Women’s Representative Squad

The inaugural AFL South Coast Women’s squad for this year’s representative fixture against AFL Hunter Central Coast has been announced with 36 players selected.

The match will be played on Saturday, 18 May at 3pm at Pasterfield Sports Complex, Cameron Park (West Newcastle) prior to the Men’s match against the same opposition.

The squad will be co-coached by Geoff Gibbs from Bomaderry Tigers and Ben Hyndes who is the Illawarra Academy of Sport Youth Girls coach.

Nine of the twelve clubs with Women’s teams have representation in the squad with last years Grand Finalists Bomaderry Tigers and Wollongong Lions providing the most players with six each.

Kiama Power, Wollongong Bulldogs, Northern Districts Tigers each have five players in the squad, while newcomers Shellharbour and Division One side Dapto City have three each. Ulladulla will provide two players and the Wollongong Saints one.

Inaugural Maddy Collier Medallist Sophie Phillips from Bomaderry not surprisingly headlines the nominations along with runner up Valentia Siskosa from Northern Districts.

New Lions recruit Jacqueline Wilson’s impressive form in front of goal this season (13 goals from just two games) has seen her rewarded with selection alongside 2018 Leading Goalkicker Ashlee Smith from Northern Districts.


The selected squad is as follows:

Bomaderry Tigers – Sophie Phillips, Jess Thomas, Jess Lidiard, Bridgett Kellett, Emma Dowse, Samantha Weir

Dapto City Unicorns – Shellee Gibson, Erin McCombe, Nicola Smyth

Kiama Power – Cassie O’Leary, Brianna Dalgleish, Liz Hoctor, Emma Carberry, Nellie Hicks

Northern Districts Tigers – Kaimana Fittock, Brianna Davies, Ashlee Smith, Kristen Lee, Valentina Siskoska

Shellharbour City Suns – Talarah Bull, Taigen Greenfell, Tyler Finn

Ulladulla Dockers – Kristelle Westbrook, Luxmi Selvakumaran

Wollongong Bulldogs – Kathryn Gaskin, Romy Bradmore, Kelsey Hogan, Mikayla Sheahan, Millie Somes

Wollongong Lions – Jordan van de Voorde, Jacqueline Wilson, Lauren Myers, Mikeala Allen, Ashleigh Smith, Mel Beveridge

Wollongong Saints – Kimberly Chan


There will be four training sessions in total with the first this Wednesday, 1 May at Bonaira Oval starting at 6pm.

The final team selected will be announced the week of the match.


Keep up-to-date with all AFL South Coast related news by following us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter