Men’s Representative Squad Announced

The Men’s AFL South Coast squad for this year’s Representative fixtures has been announced. A group of 40 players have been selected as part of the squad with representation from all seven Premier Division clubs with the final team to be confirmed a week prior to the match.

The team will take on AFL Hunter Central Coast on Saturday, 18 May.

Wollongong Lions and  last year’s Premiers, Kiama Power, lead the way with nine selections each for the squad.

Lions forward Sam Wilson who returned to the league this year has been rewarded for some good form in front of goal, after kicking 7 goals across the Lions two games this season.

The reliable Kiama midfielders in Ben Williams, Jack Mahony and Nick Baggio lead the way for Kiama while Matt Price has been selected after an outstanding 2018 which has continued this year.

The Wollongong Bulldogs have eight players selected including Pat Walker after a 10 goal haul on the weekend while Figtree five and Shellharbour four players each and Northern Districts and Bomaderry two apiece.

The selected squad is as follows:

Bomaderry Tigers – Jack Boxsell, Courtney Ward

Figtree Kangaroos – Mitchell Daly, Callum McFadden, Ben Ryan, Jacob Hennessey, Kieran Churchill

Kiama Power – Ben Hoctor, Ben Rawson, Ben Williams, Jack Mahony, Josh Walton, Lachlan Kirk, Nick Baggio, Ricky Neels, Matt Price

Northern Districts Tigers – Thomas Strong, Brendan Davis

Shellharbour City Suns – Jarrod Falconer, Sandon Ashworth, Kade Kentwell, Ben Telford

Wollongong Bulldogs – Keegan Jenkins, Sam Schiller, Sam McGowan, Lewis Gooden, Ethan Kimball, Pat Walker, Angus Cumming, Aaron Jory

Wollongong Lions – Jack Burgess, Jake Hogarth, Rohan Watson, David Nolen, Sam Wilson, Will Cook, Chris Cook, Lachlan Konza, David Goodley, Ben Green, Owen Christie


The team will be coached by Rod Richards who has coached the team for numerous years and was most recently the Senior Coach for Kiama Power, leading them to the 2018 Premiership.

Richards will be joined by Ray Burgess (Wollongong Lions), Will Ryan (Figtree Kangaroos) and Terry Little (Kiama Power) as part of the wider coaching team.

There will be four training sessions in total with the first this Wednesday, 1 May at Hollymount Oval at 6:15pm for a 6:30pm start.

The match itself will be played at 5pm at Pasterfield Sports Complex, Cameron Park (West Newcastle) directly after the Women’s Representative fixture (at 3pm).

The Women’s squad will be confirmed later today.


Keep up-to-date with all AFL South Coast related news by following us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter