Two AFL South Coast Sports NSW Finalists Announced

This week we celebrate National Volunteer Week,  and to recognise this, Sport NSW has announced their 2019 NSW Community Sports Awards finalists which we are very proud to announce features two AFL South Coast Nominations including:


Volunteer Director of the Year – Tim Martin

Many of you will know Tim Martin who, for the previous three years, was President of the Kiama Power JAFC where he has overseen unprecedented growth in the junior ages along being pivotal in the alignment of the junior and senior clubs while also playing a key role in proposed facility improvements at Bonaira Oval. More recently since stepping down as President of Kiama, Tim has played a key role in the Illawarra and Shoalhaven Junior competitions as Chair of the AFL South Coast Juniors Committee. Tim has for the past two seasons spent many, many, many hours completing the thankless task of compiling the increasingly difficult Illawarra Juniors fixtures and now also sits on the AFL South Coast Competition Management Committee (CMC). In these roles, Tim always applies a fair and consistent regional perspective  in any decision making to support the growth and development of the game and always provides high quality advice and guidance as required.

Tim is a most worth nomination for this award and we wish him luck in June!


Community Club of the Year – Kiama Power

Kiama Power are a club that others from both within, and outside the region aspire to be like. Outside of their obvious on field success in recent years at both a junior and senior level (where in juniors they focus more on participation than necessarily winning premierships), it is what Kiama do off the field which really elevates them. Kiama, like many other South Coast clubs, are an inclusive club who welcome players of all backrounds and abilities to be involved and this is no more evident by the huge numbers of players, in particular at a junior level (largest in 2018 and second largest in the region this year), who don the Power guernsey each week in winter. The club are held in high regard not only in the AFL South Coast, but are a pillar of their local community, which is another legacy of former President Darren Williams.

Good luck Kiama!


The winners of the awards will be revealed at a special ceremony in the Strangers’ Room of NSW Parliament House, at 6.00pm on Thursday 20 June 2019.

The presentation ceremony will be hosted by the Hon. John Sidoti MP, Minister for Sport, and the Minister will also present the recipients of the Sport NSW Distinguished Long Service Award with special recognition for their exceptional service to sport.


CLICK HERE to download the full list of Award Finalists


Keep up-to-date with all AFL South Coast related news by following us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter